Sirens Review

51OOx+3CyJL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve had the privilege of knowing Rhonda Parrish for quite a few years. I first met her through a NaNo site online and although I’ve never met her in person, I’ve corresponded with her over the years about writing. So I jumped at the chance to review a book that she edited (even if she hadn’t written any of the stories).

It took me a while to get through this, not because the stories are bad, but because I wanted to savor them. The idea of Sirens dates back to the BC times, at least to the idea of Homer’s story, The Oddessy, if not before. Songs sung by women luring sailors to their doom… but the authors of this book took it to a new level. Not only did they have sirens of the sea, but land and space also. And even a siren spaceship (that one was fascinating!). The vast differences in the stories are what keep your attention as you page (flip) through the book, moving between each story from the Siren who’s looking for love (“Siren Seeking” by Kelly Sandoval which brings a whole new meaning to online dating) to the cheerleader sirens (“We Are Sirens” by L.S. Johnson and a very creepy look at the mentality of high school) to the spaceship siren (“Nautilus” by V.F. LeSann which almost reminded me of a Star Trek episode).

There’s something for everyone in here and although a couple of times I had to squint to try to figure out where the “siren” theme fit in, by the end of the story, I could figure it out. A few times I got to the end and went “wait, that’s it?!” but there’s a couple of authors I’m going to look up and see if they have any other books (and no I’m not going to tell you who… you’ll need to read Sirens for yourself), but overall, I didn’t feel the need to skip anything, a rarity in an anthology written by multiple authors.

So pre-order Sirens and then stop back next month for the blog tour when I host L.S. Johnson. I’ve already read her post and I promise it will give you something to think about.

Leave a Reply

