Review of C is for Chimera

C is for Chimera is the third book in the Alphabet Anthologies series (following A is for Apocalypse and B is for Broken), edited by Rhonda Parrish.

Starting with A and working all the way through Z, authors share a variety of stories all based around the theme of chimeras.

With twenty-seven stories, there’s worry that the book could be overly long, but each of the stories is short, no more than a couple of pages. There are a few that are a bit longer, but I don’t think any go over five or seven pages (I read the book on a Kindle so page counts may vary). The best part is it allows a reader to meet new authors that they may not otherwise encounter. (Or in my case come across the surprise of an old friend I was not expecting.)

The stories are mostly science fiction in genre, although they range from fantastical to historical to steampunk. It was an easy read and for the most part I was happy to move to one story to the next although a couple of times, I got to the end and went “Wait. What?” wondering what happened in the story. It was almost as if the author had a word count and couldn’t quite get the entirety of the idea into the required space.

What it all comes down to those is C is for Chimera is an enjoyable read and I look forward to seeing what happens with D and the rest of the Alphabet.

 

You can get your very own copy starting on April 19th.

 

[I received an electronic ARC of the book and I know the editor and one of the contributors, in interests of full disclosure, but that did not influence my review… especially since I didn’t know the one contributor had contributed until I reached her story.]

Leave a Reply

