Two Book Reviews

Two book reviews this week. Both YA, a new author and an old favorite.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
I picked out Truthwitch by Susan Dennard when I was browsing at Barnes and Noble a few weeks ago with a friend. It looked interesting and I thought I might enjoy the little romp. Wow was it more than I expected. I had to keep reminding myself that this is labelled as a Young Adult book. Safi and Iseult are well-developed, well-rounded characters who easily carry the book.

Ms. Dennard has created a world where magic reigns and witches such as Iseult can see the “threads” of life—how people connect and interact with each other. Safi, meanwhile, is a domna (a noble) and also a Truthwitch. This means she is highly coveted by all parties. The two girls are Threadsisters (sisters of the heart if I understand it correctly).

Although the novel mainly focuses on the two girls, they are supported and also thwarted by Merik (a prince from another country—who also happens to be a Windwitch, captain, and admiral). In addition a Bloodwitch trails them at every turn. I personally found the Bloodwitch one of the most fascinating characters as he was injured time and again and yet continued in dogged pursuit.

The novel shows the girls’ growth and change as they learn not only how they can influence the world around them, but how the world is influenced by them. Hopefully Ms. Dennard will soon write a sequel.

The mark of a great book? I found myself staying up way past my bedtime and having to force myself to put the book down at times. If you enjoy fantasy, this is a wonderful book.

Illusion by Sherrilyn Kenyon
I can’t say I loved this book for a couple of reasons. I spent the first part of the book confused. I wish I’d taken the time to re-read the prior book before I read this one, it’s been a while since I read Inferno and I think that stymied me a bit because I had to keep reminding myself of what had been going on. And even then, I couldn’t really recall all of it.

Honestly if I didn’t have such a love for Nick, I’d probably stop reading this series. It’s being dragged out and each book ends in a cliffhanger that frustrates me more than makes me look forward to the next book. Plus we have to wait so long between the books (a year which seems like a long time, but I guess isn’t. On the other hand this is a YA series which probably seems longer.)

Most of this book took place in an alternate reality and that was fun. To see Nick doing something other than fighting and tumbling from issue to issue as we’ve been seeing. To see him with a mother and father and a “normal” life. I will admit that at least Ms. Kenyon keeps it fresh, she introduces new characters or re-introduces old characters from a different point of view.

I can definitely say if you enjoy the Dark-Hunters series (and Nick), this is another step on that journey.

Leave a Reply

