3 Reviews (Lock & Mori, Fairest, and Lady Thief)

I’m trying to keep myself active on goodreads.com so I’ve been making sure to review books as I read them… except… I read three over the weekend. So here’s the books I read! I’ll try not to post three at a time again…

 

 

Lock & Mori
I grew up reading Sherlock Holmes. I LOVED Sherlock Holmes. I’m not sure what to say about this book. Taken as an enjoyable YA book… it was cute. I won’t say it was the most exciting, most gripping novel I’ve ever read, but it kept me reading.

**Spoilers**

On the other hand, Sherlock wasn’t Sherlock. Now let me explain that. Moriarty “Mori” did more to solve the mystery than Sherlock did. When I pick up a Sherlock Holmes mystery, whether it is an Arthur Conan Doyle, a reprint, a rewrite, a reimagining, whatever, there are certain things as a reader I expect. And one of them is for “the world’s greatest detective” to be the one solving the mystery.

Yeah. No. Didn’t happen.

I was okay with Moriarty being a girl (I thought that was a cute twist). I was okay with it being set in modern times (yay for making Sherlock Holmes reachable to a new generation!) I was even okay with Sherlock and Moriarty teaming up (hey why not make mortal enemies be partners) and teenagers. But Sherlock NOT being the one to crack the case?? What is going on??

Anyway. Overall the writing was good, the storyline decent. The characters weren’t terrible (although moody as many teenagers are). (Sherlock was more a Cumberbatch-esque Holmes than an RDJ for those who care and understand.) And I honestly think this is not the book to introduce Sherlock Holmes to a new generation.

Is there going to be a sequel? The end seemed rather open ended.

 

 

Fairest
Reimaged fairy tales seem to be all the rage right now. This is an even newer twist on the old tale though as Marissa Meyer not only reimagines it, but adds in science fiction elements.

Fairest is the companion novel to Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series and I absolutely recommend reading the series first, at least the first three books. It’s been a while since I read them and even with having read them, I had to stop and remind myself of what happened in the other novels. But I found myself going “Ooooh so that’s how this is related and so and so comes in” as I was reading. Meyer has created a well-woven and intricate society that keeps you turning the pages until the very end.

**Spoilers**
Levana is the younger sister of the Queen of Luna, but it doesn’t stay that way for long. Follow along as she goes from the overlooked young princess to the cruel queen readers are familiar with in the Lunar Chronicles. Although there were times I felt sympathetic to her, most of the time I was horrified by her actions or wondered how people could not see through what she was doing when they were away from her influence.

This is absolutely not the book to start with (even though it is listed as a prequel). Start with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, then read this book before Winter. This is great characterization and gives you some insight into Levana, but I think the character would be spoiled if you read it first.

 

 

Lady Thief

I will preface this review with the explanation that I didn’t realize until I was reading that this book is part of a trilogy and that it is book two. But I don’t think that makes these comments any less valid.

I picked this book because I enjoy the Robin Hood myth. After King Arthur, it’s probably my favorite myth from medieval times. The idea that Marian is Will Scarlet just put the icing on the cake (I have always enjoyed Will Scarlet).

And then I started reading. And I almost put the book down. No really. I’m not sure what the author was thinking, but I had to keep stopping and putting the book down and walking away. I’m actually impressed with myself for getting through the entire book. Honestly if I had opened the book in the store and not just read the teaser; I probably would not have borrowed it from the library.

The author uses first person narrative to push the story along, but has the habit of replacing “was” with “were” throughout the story. It consistently managed to throw this reader out of the story and served to not make the point of showing a lower class, but just force my brain to self-correct. Overall it ruined the story.

Despite this, the characters were enough to keep me reading as I wanted to see how Ms. Gaughen would tie them all together. She wove them beautifully, designing characters that made me almost look beyond the oddity of the writing.

Still I’ll think twice about reading the other two books in the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

