Review of Fangirl

I read a lot. One of the things with being a writer is I read a lot of things and a lot of different things and I do reviews for different groups or when I’ve read a book that someone has recommended to me. (For example at this exact moment, I’m reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.) I will take recommendations from just about anywhere; librarians, online reading buddies, GoodReads, Amazon, independent writers, and my writing group friends.

This particular book came from one of my online buddies. She and I haven’t been friends for long, although we have a mutual friend that I’ve been friends with for many years.

Anyway we were talking about books and what we were reading and she mentioned a book she really loved: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I’m willing to try anything provided my library has it and I was able to borrow it within a few days.

Fangirl is about a young girl, Cath, who loves Simon Snow. She and her twin sister, Wren, have been inseparable since birth. The two girls have shared everything, including their love of Simon Snow and their writing of fanfic.

When they go away to college though, Wren no longer wants to share a room with Cath. Unfortunately Cath isn’t just a fan, she uses her fanfic as a way to experience the world in a way. She suffers from anxiety and has trouble making friends. She doesn’t trust people easily because the girls’ mother left them when they were little; on September 11th.

The book follows Cath’s freshman year as she makes friends and experiences college life and experiences her writing in a whole new life. She learns and grows as she discovers college life and herself and her sister and her own strength.

The book is divided into two parts: Cath’s Fall and Spring semesters. Readers will sympathize with Cath as she is taken out of her comfort zone and forced to step into the much larger realm of college. She and her assigned roommate, Reagan, are such opposites that the reader immediately thinks they’ll never get along. The two girls surprise the reader though and as the year progresses… they become allies.

Well-written and well-paced, Fangirl is relatable to anyone who has ever loved a show or book. I’d even recommend it to anyone who feels unable to relate to people face to face on a daily basis at times.

This is a beautiful coming of age story in a way as Cath faces life in a way she never expected to. It also made me as a writer think. But that’s an entry for a later time.

If you’d like to be involved in that entry, please leave me a comment and I’ll send you the questions.

Leave a Reply

