Grammar-itis Take One

It must be grammar day. Or writing day. Or something day. In my emails today, I was tagged with two grammar sites and three different writing commentaries. Actually now that I think about it, that’s not much for me. It’s actually a slow day when I don’t get a few posts about writing.

But not everyone has friends who are writers, aspiring writers, or amateur writers. (And hey thesaurus, amateur doesn’t necessary mean sloppy!) So I thought I’d share some of the things I’ve been sent over the next few entries.

Today from the lovely k3nj1ph1, I have an article about word usage from Writer’s Circle. Now anything I link to or post on here is to be used at your own discretion. It is not intended to become a bible for you.

So the idea here (as near as I can tell) is to use more active words. And I’m all for that. I think writing should be exciting and fun and we should have action in it!

Now if you haven’t clicked the link, you should because I’m going to discuss a couple of the things in the actual article.

Very/Really
I’m not sure you need to delete this completely. I could understand using them in some places. Or at least using them sparingly. That being said, I am going to keep an eye on MY usage over the next few weeks of my writing.

Suddenly
I’m sure I use this entirely too much. Or I did. I’m absolutely going to keep an eye out for the usage and attempt to replace it. In my editing if nothing else.

Amazing/Awesome
I had a difficult time not laughing at this one. It’s one I hear A LOT with students so it’s already on my list of not to use, but it’s still a good one to keep in mind.

That
I actually had a professor my senior year of college who made us go through three or four papers and find our most commonly used phrase. Mine was “the fact that”. Now this was essay writing and I still find myself using the phrase, but I’ve cut down a lot. I can see how it would be useful not to use it.

I found the article interesting, I will definitely be reading more on this site. And I hope you found the article helpful. Until next time. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

