That Golden Writing Time

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about this week (and this was supposed to be last week’s entry so you’ll get another one in a day or so), but I was talking to my friend and fellow writer, Hope, and she came up with the idea of making time to write.

So I’m going to start with a couple of questions:
1. How and when do you make time to write?
2. What do you find most difficult about finding time to write?
3. What is your ideal time to write?
4. (and this one might seem a bit off-topic) Do you like quiet when you’re writing or do you like some type of noise?

And then share my own answers:
1. How and when do you make time to write?
I work around my work and family schedule so my time varies from day to day and week to week. I most often find the best time for me to write is later in the evening after dinner because my family is settled in for the evening and is less likely to interrupt me. I generally still get pulled away from time to time, but at this point; I have found that requesting time just to write doesn’t work. I have learned to grab minutes here and there when I can. It doesn’t make me very consistent, but I have learned to write a lot in a little bit of time.

2. What do you find most difficult about finding time to write?
Finding time between everything else I think I SHOULD be doing. Or getting distracted by all the other things I COULD be doing. Like over the weekend, my room was such a mess that I put off writing to clean it. I felt much better once it was done but that was two hours when I was cleaning out my closet and putting things away that I possibly could be writing. Of course now I have a nice clean room where I can think and not be distracted by disaster.

3. What is your ideal time to write?
I prefer to write in the evenings. Not just because it’s most likely the time I’ll be left alone, but because it’s MY best brain time, despite what this article says. This though is an interesting commentary about getting up and writing.

4. (and this one might seem a bit off-topic) Do you like quiet when you’re writing or do you like some type of noise?
I like noise. I prefer to have the television or music on, to have conversation in the background, just some type of noise. I work better that way. Some people might find it distracting, but I can stare blindly at the TV screen and it jump starts my brain when I get stuck.

So what are your thoughts? Also is there anything you’d like to see in the next few blog posts? I’d love some feedback!

Leave a Reply

