Your Writing Brain

Dee Willis sent this article (The Best Time of Day for Creative Thinking) to me a couple of days ago and I didn’t read it immediately, but I finally did. It talks about how your brain works better in the morning and you should concentrate on writing then. Well, you couldn’t prove it by me. I tend to do my writing in the afternoon or evening or even late at night. On the other hand, I’m more app to get up in the morning and edit for people, but I think that’s because I want to get it done and finished, than anything else.

I also find when I’m sick or out of sorts that I just don’t write as much (for example I’ve had a cold for the last few days and I’ve been trying to write this and the next blog entry for three days and I just now got to it.)

So what is your opinion? Are you a morning writer? A night owl? Or do you drag it out and not want to sit down at the computer until the last minute? Let me know!

One thought on “Your Writing Brain

  1. Well, I used to always be a night writer. I had always been a night person as long as I can remember. Hated going to bed early and I was always the last one asleep whenever I went to a slumber party. But then, somewhere along the way, I stopped sleeping through the night. Most mornings I’m wide awake anywhere from 3 AM to 5 AM and one morning, instead of going back to sleep until 6, I decided to write. And I wrote a lot! My brain actually worked. Then we started having early morning writing times in Shenandoah Valley Writers every weekday and I kept writing! It is so very bizarre knowing I can write that early in the morning but for some reason, my brain works. I think it is because there’s so much in my brain by the night time that I can’t focus as well as I can with my fresh brain in the mornings in the silence. Very bizarre but somehow it works for me!

Leave a Reply

